SSPX's members of theological commission named

This press release of the Society's General House was published on October 15, 2009.

SSPX's members named for Roman theological commission

Bishop Bernard Fellay has appointed as representatives of the Society of St. Pius X for the theological discussions with the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith:

  • Bishop Alfonso de Galarreta, rector of the Nuestra Senora Corredentora Seminary at La Reja (Argentina);
  • Fr. Benoit de Jorna, rector of the International Seminary of St. Pius X in Econe (Switzerland);
  • Fr. Jean-Michel Gleize, professor of ecclesiology at the Econe seminary,
  • and Fr. Patrick de La Rocque, prior of the St. Louis Priory in Nantes (France).

Bishop de Galarreta was already president of the commission—within the Society—to which the preparation of the upcoming discussions had been entrusted in April 2009.

The work will begin in the second half of the month of October. It will demand the discretion necessary to ensure serene talks about the doctrinal issues which raise difficulties.

October 15, 2009