Confirmation Dates in the US District Released through May, 2021

January 27, 2021
Source: District of the USA

After a period of some uncertainty due to the difficulty of international travel over the last year, arrangements have been made for Confirmations through the US District of the Society of Saint Pius X.

If you need further information on details, please contact the local chapel.  Please note that many of the locations are receiving this information just shortly before you are - patience is requested as they make the arrangements.

Sunday, February 7................ Phoenix, AZ

Saturday, February 13............ Denver, CO

Sunday, February 21.............. Veneta, OR

Saturday, February 27............ Arcadia, CA

Sunday, February 28.............. Los Gatos, CA
 

Saturday, March 6.................. Grand Rapids, MI

Sunday, March 7.................... Armada, MI

Saturday, March 13................ Chicago, IL

Sunday, March 14.................. Walton, KY

Friday, March 19.................... St. Marys, KS

Saturday, March 20................ St. Marys, KS

Sunday, March 21.................. Kansas City, MO
 

Saturday, April 10.................. Long Prairie, MN

Sunday, April 11.................... St. Cloud, MN

Monday, April 12................... St. Paul, MN

Saturday, April 17.................. Madison, WI

Sunday, April 18.................... Mukwonago, WI

Friday, April 23...................... Baton Rouge, LA

Saturday, April 24.................. Atlanta, GA

Sunday, April 25.................... Sanford, FL
 

Saturday, May 1..................... Warners, NY

Sunday, May 2........................ St. Louis, MO

Saturday, May 8..................... Farmingville, NY

Sunday, May 9........................ Philadelphia, PA

Saturday, May 15................... Post Falls, ID

Sunday, May 16..................... Post Falls, ID
 

Related items from Angelus Press

St. Thomas Aquinas on the character of Confirmation
 

Extract from Summa Theologica, IIIa, q. 72, art 5: Whether the sacrament of Confirmation imprints a character?

As stated above (Question 63, Article 2), a character is a spiritual power ordained to certain sacred actions. Now it has been said above (1; 65, 1) that, just as Baptism is a spiritual regeneration unto Christian life, so also is Confirmation a certain spiritual growth bringing man to perfect spiritual age.

But it is evident, from a comparison with the life of the body, that the action which is proper to man immediately after birth, is different from the action which is proper to him when he has come to perfect age. And therefore by the sacrament of Confirmation man is given a spiritual power in respect of sacred actions other than those in respect of which he receives power in Baptism. For in Baptism he receives power to do those things which pertain to his own salvation, forasmuch as he lives to himself: whereas in Confirmation he receives power to do those things which pertain to the spiritual combat with the enemies of the Faith.

This is evident from the example of the apostles, who, before they received the fulness of the Holy Ghost, were in the "upper room ...persevering ...in prayer" (Acts 1:13-14); whereas afterward they went out and feared not to confess their faith in public, even in the face of the enemies of the Christian Faith. And therefore it is evident that a character is imprinted in the sacrament of Confirmation.

Read Fr. Goffine's instruction from The Church's Year about the Feast of Pentecost and the gifts and fruits of the Holy Ghost.

 

Qualifications to be Confirmed (in normal circumstances):

A candidate must:
· be a baptized Catholic;
· be a practicing Catholic;
· have sufficient knowledge of the sacrament, including
  its meaning and its importance, as judged by the
  pastor of the chapel;
· present a Confirmation name.

Normally, Confirmations are encouraged at about the age of 11 or 12, but various locations may have different customs.


Qualifications to be a Sponsor are the same as a Godparent for Baptism:

 A sponsor must:
· be chosen by the person who will be confirmed, or by the parents;
· be at least sixteen years old;
· be a practicing Catholic who has already been confirmed
  and who has received the sacrament of Eucharist.